top of page

Skydiving, Lake Taupo & Wanaka

Stephen and I have both skydived; myself twice, Stephen a whole course. Stephen will write a separate post about his experience taking a course to learn how to solo skydive.

Firstly, skydiving was one of the most exhilarating, scary and greatest experiences of my life. When I embarked on my travels I knew I wanted to try some extreme sports and skydiving was in my top three. When I booked my first dive in Wanaka, the only emotion I felt was excitement. As they rigged me up and we sat in a tiny aeroplane rising to 15,000 ft above ground the only emotion I felt was fear. Pure, stomach churning fear. I was gripping to my instructors thighs with all my might, hopeful that perhaps I would scare him enough to not want to dive with me.

No such luck. I saw all my fellow divers fall out of the plane before me and as we shuffled towards the door I could feel the fear grasping at my throat. "Ready?" my instructor asked as he dangled me out of the door. "Erm" I replied as I heard "One, two..." "aaaahhhhhhhh!!!"

A freefall for 60 seconds reaching speeds of 200kph. I can't even explain how many emotions I felt. Exhilarated. Contented. Excited. Invigorated. Calm. Charged. Overjoyed. Intoxicated. Blissful.

Once the parachute was deployed, the scenery on the way down was breathtaking for both of my dives. New Zealand is a beautiful country and I don't think I could have picked better places than Taupo and Wanaka. I felt slightly hysterical when I reached the ground and couldn't stop grinning!

I felt inspired not only to do another sky dive the following day but to really make sure I lived life to the fullest. I took a risk and it paid off. I had never felt as scared as I did that first dive and I conquered it. I would say it truly changed my life and I wouldn't be surprised if it changed yours too... if you gather the courage to take the leap!

http://www.skydivewanaka.com/home

http://www.skydivetaupo.co.nz/

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page